The word chakra means wheel in Sanskrit and the chakras are wheels of energy the support your body, from the base of your spine to your head. The sixth chakra, the third eye chakra, known as anja in Sanskrit is located on the forehead between the eyebrows. It focuses on openness and imagination.

Your Third Eye Chakra 

Sanskrit Name: Anja meaning command and perceiving
Location: Located on the forehead between the eyebrows, the third eye chakra is also related to the pineal gland that regulates various biorhythms in the body including waking up and falling asleep.
Element: Related to the supreme element, the third eye chakra combines all the other chakras in their purest form
Color: Purple
Symbol: A lotus flower and a downward pointing triangle; these symbols represent wisdom
Behavioral Characteristics: Intuition, perception, wisdom, motivation, inspiration, and creativity
When Imbalanced: You will feel “stuck” and have a lack of clarity 

Yoga Poses to Balance Your Third Eye Chakra

According to Chakra Info, “restoring the power of your chakras is about how you can take back control of your health and wellness by learning to work with energy.” Specific yoga poses can be practiced to keep balance in your third eye chakra. To being a practice that balances this chakra, start in a seated position taking a few deep breaths as you focus solely on your third eye. Send each inhale and exhale into your third eye and set your intention for your practice.

  • Makara Adho Mukha Svanasana (Dolphin Plank Pose): Place your elbows on the floor under your shoulders and bring your hands together in prayer. As you straighten your legs behind you, lift them off the mat, allowing the only contact points with the earth to be your feet, elbows, forearms, and hands. Breath into your third eye.
  • Garudasana (Eagle Pose): From a standing pose, lift your right knee and place it on top of your left. If possible, wrap your right shin behind your left calf. Breathe into this balance as you place your left elbow on top of your right, keeping your elbow bent. Sink into this pose and be sure to keep your left knee towards the midline of your body. Breathe into your third eye for a few breaths. Switch sides after completing this sequence.
  • Virabhadrasana III (Warrior III): Stand with your arms at your sides. As you begin to bend forward, send your left leg behind you and keep it parallel to the floor. Keep your arms at your side and reach your fingers behind you. As you master this balancing pose, focus on breathing into your third eye for a few moments before you switch to the other leg.
  • Ardha Pincha Mayurasana (Dolphin Pose): This pose is similar to downward facing dog, but you will rest on your forearms instead of balancing on your bands. Ensure your elbows are directly under your shoulders and bring your hands together in prayer. As you walk your feet in closer to your elbows, bring your third eye down to your thumbs.
  • Pincha Mayurasana (Feathered Peacock Pose or Forearm Balance): Face a wall and fold in half as you bring your elbows under your shoulders. Bring your hands into prayer, walk your legs into towards your elbows, and then kick your legs up towards the wall. Keep your spine long and lifted while you breathe into your third eye. Stay here for a few moments.
  • Balasana (Child’s Pose): From a tabletop position, bring your sit bones to your heels as you gently place your forehead and third eye chakra on the floor. Continue to breathe deeply as you sink your anja chakra into the earth.

Many end their third eye chakra balance practice with meditation and breathing into this chakra. In a seated position, breathe deeply, bringing your thoughts back to your intention and focusing on this chakra while you send energy from each inhale and exhale to your third eye.

To help keep your third eye chakra balanced, check out Alo Moves‘ Love & All is Coming: Immersion series by Talia Sutra to engage in a more advanced practice that sends energy to the various chakras in your body.


Comments are closed.