The 7th chakra and the final chakra is the crown chakra. In Sanskrit, the crown chakra is known as sahasrara and it is located at the top of your head. This chakra is our gateway to higher levels of consciousness. This 7th chakra, like the six before it will require chakra balancing, which comes from chakra yoga and specific asanas to find this balance.

Your Crown Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara, meaning a thousand petals
Location: Located at the top of your head or slightly above the top of the head, the crown chakra is associated with higher states of consciousness. The crown chakra is related to your pituitary gland and the hypothalamus, which work together to regulate your endocrine system. The crown chakra also works closely with your brain and your entire nervous system
Element: Because the 7th chakra is associated with a higher state of consciousness, it is associated with the element of cosmic energy
Color: White or deep purple
Symbol: A circle with a thousand petals, this chakra is often compared to the full moon
Behavioral Characteristics: Consciousness, the wisdom of what is sacred, ecstasy, bliss, presence, connection with the limitless, and awareness of higher consciousness all represent psychological and behavioral characteristics associated with the crown chakra.
When Imbalanced: An imbalanced crown chakra can manifest as closed-mindedness, constant cynicism about what is sacred, disconnection with your spirit, or disconnection with your body

Yoga Poses to Balance Your Crown Chakra 

Because the crown chakra completes the chain of the seven chakras, it is directly related to the first chakra, the root chakra. The root chakra is related to security and stability while the crown chakra relates to our overall spirit; the two chakras complement each other and can contribute holistically to your health and wellness.

The following yoga poses are meant to bring balance to your crown chakra and leave you feeling energized from head to toe.

  • Anjali Mudra (Seated Prayer Pose): start your crown chakra yoga in this seated meditative pose. Bring your breath and awareness to your pelvic floor, feeling grounded and supported. As you regulate your breathing, bring your awareness up your spine, to the top of your head. Continue to breathe and send your energy and awareness to your crown chakra.
  • Anuvittasana (Standing Backbend in Prayer): plant your feet firmly beneath you, feeling a steadiness from the earth below you. Lift your pelvic floor and spine with each breath. Bring your hands to prayer, first at your heart and then slowly after a few breaths, to your forehead. Let your back body lift your front body as you slowly move into a backbend.
  • Virabhadrasana I + Garudasana Arms (Warrior I with Eagle Arms): inhale and exhale into Warrior I, letting your hips open as you send your breath and energy to your crown chakra. After a few breaths, bring your arms in front of you, stacking your left elbow on top of your right elbow and snaking your arms around one another into eagle pose.
  • Parivrtta Baddha Ardha Chandrasana (Revolved Bound Half Moon Pose): from Warrior I with your right foot forward, bring your weight into your forward leg as you extend your left leg back and your right arm up. If it is in your practice, bend your left knee and catch your left foot with your right hands. Spend a few moments here, breathing into this pose and bringing awareness to your body and your crown chakra.
  • Garudasana variation (Baby Eagle Pose): this pose engages from your root chakra through your crown chakra, engaging various states of consciousness in the body. Start by kneeling with your toes tucked under you. Cross your right knee over your left knee and bring your right foot flat on the floor on the outside of your left thigh. Your left heel should be at your pelvic floor, sending energy to your root chakra. Take a few breaths here and once stable, stack your elbows with your left elbow sitting on top of your right. Take a few breaths while being mindful of your stability, then switch sides.
  • Salamba Sirsasana (Supported Headstand): this inversion brings blood and oxygen to the head and brain to sending energy through your crown chakra. Start by creating a tripod shape with your elbow on the ground and your hands clasped in front of you. Place your head between your hands and walk your feet forward until your hips are directly over your head. With a controlled movement, lift your buttocks and knees towards the ceiling. Find your breath, and if it is in your practice, straighten your knees as you breathe into your crown chakra.
  • Halasana (Plow Pose): another great pose to bring energy to your crown chakra; plow pose stretches the spine and shoulders. From a supine position, raise your legs into the air. As you exhale, slowly bring your legs behind you. As you take a few breaths here, notice the energy exchange between your feet and your head.

End your chakra yoga with another Anjali Mudra, sending gratitude and energy to your crown chakra for your practice. After you have completed these asanas, your body should feel uplifted and energized.


Comments are closed.